Fruit in Asia

Also known as Carambola

Star Fruit (or Carambola)

It’s now like the hottest time in Singapore (and many parts of Asia). Phew, you can’t walk thirty seconds without working up a sweat! And I find it a challenge having to figure out what to eat…which brings me to the topic of fruit. When it’s just too tiresome to eat (or when one is looking for a non-sinful meal), look to fruit to fill in a that much needed ‘light’ meal.  Local Asian fruit is sweet, colourful and oh, so good 🙂

These are not ‘hairy monsters’ – they’re Rambutans

Papaya

Remember not to get the purple Mangosteen juice stain your clothes

Chilled, it tastes just right on a hot day. Pureed, and it gives a lift to something savoury – think mango puree and foie gras…mm…the mango is also quite a versatile fruit – the many varieties opens them up to be made into chutneys, lassis, cakes and salads.  I remember growing up, my parents would always try to find a mango sapling to plant into any new house that we moved into.  In fact, the mango tree is the exact same species in the picture below.  The idea was to have bountiful harvests of mangoes to eat and cook with.  Unfortunately, Mother Nature had other thoughts and always gave us miniscule amounts!

Mango

Mango Tree with ‘Apple’ Mangoes

Coming back to the present, fruit being rich in fibre fills you without increasing the calorie intake 🙂

Then again, the fruit can also be high in cholesterol – the durian comes to mind!

Having said that, I figure it’s one of the very few that you have to watch how much is eaten – and what it’s drunk with – refrain from alcohol as the combination is supposed to knock you out!  Durians are not only eaten on it’s own, but can also be made into ‘Pengat’ – a stew of coconut milk, gula melaka (palm sugar) and sago.  Pengat is now rarely found in Singapore.  I find it a bit more readily available in Malaysia and is offered more during the durian season.

Pineapple – chilled, and ready to eat!

Watermelons and Limes, ready to be juiced

Rose Apple or Jambu

Fruit in Asia is colourful and the hawkers tend to cut and display it beautifully.  The ‘fruit’ stalls also tend to have fruit ready to be juiced and you don’t have to pay an arm and a leg for a freshly squeezed local orange or mixed fruit juice.  So, no excuse not to indulge in the guilt-free ready-to-eat variety from the markets 🙂

3 thoughts on “Fruit in Asia

  1. For a few moments, you’ve taken me home. Most of the fruits here have been growing in our yard, back when I lived in the Philippines. My favourite has to be apple mango and though its not here, marang.

    I’ve devoured these fruits delightfully, save for durian and jambu. The latter I’ve had the pleasure of seeing before, the former…I’m still learning to overcome the strength of its smell and ignoring the not so nice effects when I tried.

    1. Thank you for your kind comments. Indeed, the durian can definitely be overpowering in smell! To help the durian novice in Singapore, we have a ‘tamer’ version in the form of the durian puff, much like a cream puff. The filling is custard-like in nature and is filled into the puff. Have a try if you come across it and tell me what you think 🙂

      1. I’ve realised in my attempts to conquer the durian, I’ve heartily treated durian candy. If the puff is anything like that, I’ll definitely give it a go when I have the chance.

Comments are closed.