Rickshaws – Three-Wheeled modes of Transport

I was going through my hard disk of photos the other day and came across a file entitled ‘Haikou’. It’s the administrative capital of the Chinese provincial state, Hainan, I visited in 2010 (not too long ago) and where my friends and I went on a golf and sightseeing trip. Being the ‘Hawaii of the East,’ Haikou has some of the most beautiful golf courses I’ve come across.

But this short post isn’t about the beautiful golf courses and the interesting food.  It’s about the ‘green’ transport that the locals take – rickshaws – whether to get from one place or another or to transport goods.

What I found intriguing was that most of the rickshaw riders were women! So harking back to ‘days gone by’, I’ve given this rickshaw collection a black and white treatment.  All pictures taken with the micro-four thirds camera, Panasonic GF-1 and the f/1.7 Pancake lens.

Rushing through the market

Used to transport items – no cover for people

Rickshaws seem to be a common sight Asia – from North Asia (China, Japan) to South and South East Asia (Malaysia, Vietnam, Thailand).  They’re relatively cheap and a great way to take photos as it’s a nice pace 🙂

