Grace and Strength at the HSBC Women’s Champions, 2011

It’s not everyday that Singapore gets to see world class women golfers on it’s shores so it was golf heaven for me when I received tickets to the HSBC Women’s Golf Champions!  Held for the fourth year running at the very beautiful Tanah Merah Country Club, I was privileged to see the current number 1 woman golfer Yani Tseng and her comrades do battle on this exquisitely maintained course.

In addition to witnessing grace and strength up close and personal instead of on TV, I also got to see some behind the scenes action like Paula Creamer giving two little girls cold bottled water when her parents didn’t have water handy.  The whole family looked stunned!  I couldn’t help but think of it as such a lovely gesture on Paula’s part.  In addition, I also got to hear her thank the crowd when she was signing autographs to “come back again tomorrow.  You all have been great!”  Lest you think I’m Paula-crazy, I’m not. The other women golfers were great as well but it was so nice to see this young (and well-known) golfer show by example, how to treat people and fans.

Having seen them up close and personal over the four days that they played in Singapore, I have to say they worked pretty hard!  The TV doesn’t quite go behind the scenes.  The ladies practice hard, play 18-holes in all kinds of weather (it was scorching in Singapore!) and then go out and mingle with the fans after each round.  In addition, if the event is sponsored (as in this case by HSBC), the women also attend sponsor events so that the sponsor’s clients have an opportunity to mix and mingle with them as well.  I’ve also read that many of them have foundations back in their home countries where they support the under privileged and other worthy causes.  Talk about great time management!

Well enough yakking about the tournament.  Here are pictures of the action (and fashion) on Tanah Merah Country Club.

