Hello world!

Hello World indeed!  So I’ve decided to join the blogging bandwagon now.  Why?  Because after a career change, I now have time…time to pursue the things that matter to me, like living healthily, doing more exercise, spending time with family and friends and taking more pictures of my surroundings.

Strange but I’ve never felt the need to document until now – the world’s changing so rapidly, with things disappearing overnight!  Take buildings and roads for example – in Asia (where I’m based), it’s become a game of  ‘now you see it, now you don’t’!  Sometimes for good, most times for bad…but we can’t stand in the way of progress and government so I guess the next best thing is to take a picture of it, a legacy for the next generation.

An example of change is this changing skyline of KL that I took last week that I was there. Taken from the Mandarin Oriental Hotel at KLCC, it shows that there’ll soon be new buildings in the surrounding area.  At least there are green lungs to shore up the concrete lungs!  Seeing the city changing, I went down to what I would call a cultural heritage site.  Taking a train from KLCC to Petaling Street, I headed to Chinatown, where I was met with a fantastic mixture of old buildings, temples, street hawkers and modern buildings.

Visiting old Chinese and Indian temples, I came across some nice familiar sights – like the burning incense coils…

..and a back street lane with a number of small carts selling offerings for use at the Indian temple.  Moving down a little, you come to Petaling Street with a rich mixture of hawker stalls and open air carts selling all kinds of fashionable items from handbags to lingerie!  Here’s a picture of one of a favourite Asian snack, “min chang kueh” or peanut pancake.

Although this a somewhat short post, a ‘visual banquet’ is what I hope my blog will become.  I need to collect my thoughts and pics a little more for the next post, but what the heck, better a short story to kick off 2011!  I hope you enjoy viewing these pictures as much as I’ve had taking them.  Tell me what you think.

2 thoughts on “Hello world!

Comments are closed.